by Waylon Galvez

Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas chairman Sonny Angara and SBP vice chair Robbie Puno, along with PBA NorthPort owner Mikee Romeo, lead the list of winners among sportsmen who came out victorious in Monday’s mid-term elections.

Angara is high up in the top 10 among senatorial candidates with the counting winding down while Puno was a landslide winner for a congressional seat in Antipolo.

Also in the top 10 in the senatorial race are Pia Cayetano, a known triathlete, and Christopher ‘Bong’ Go, a strong supporter of the PBA.

Romero, team owner of Batang Pier in the PBA, is, on the other hand, set to again earn a seat in congress via the 1-Pacman party list.

Other winners include former PBA Most Valuable Player Vergel Meneses, fencing chief Richard Gomez, former boxing head Manny Lopez and ex-La Salle standout Francis Zamora.

Vergel Meneses 01 file photo copy 640x500 - Heralding the dawn of new era in sports politics

Vergel Meneses

Meneses, PBA MVP in 1995 and nicknamed Aerial Voyager, won as mayor of Bulakan, Bulacan, while Gomez has been re-elected mayor of Ormoc City. Zamora, who played for the De La Salle Green Archers in the late 90s, ended the Ejercito’s 50-year-reign in San Juan by winning the mayoralty race.

Lopez, former president of the Amateur Boxing Association of the Philippines, won another term as congressman in Manila’s first district.

Other winners included Franz Pumaren as councilor in District 3 of Quezon City, Binky Favis councilor in District 2 of Parañaque City, UAAP commissioner Rebo Saguisag councilor of Makati’s District 1, Dondon Hontiveros councilor of Cebu City’s North District, Paul Artadi reelected councilor in San Juan District 1, and Yoyong Martirez in Pasig City’s District 2.

Former SBP chairman Oscar Moreno won the mayoralty post in Cagayan de Oro, while player-agent Matthew Manotoc, son of PBA champion coach Tommy Manotoc, has been elected governor of Ilocos Norte. Mike Keon, who led Project: Gintong Alay in the 80s, won as mayor of Laoag City.

Not so lucky were Gilas Pilipinas coach Yeng Guiao, ex-pro Peter Aguilar, PBA mentor Ariel Vanguardia, and taekwondo’s Monsour del Rosario and Ali Atienza.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *