Novice Karol Collantes and Israeli expat driver Ohad Rapoport won their respective Petron-Clark Global City Superbattle rounds during the Rally of Champions (ROC) leg at Clark Global City (CGC), Pampanga last month.

Collantes was the fastest in the Tarmac Time Attack Round 4 and Rapoport in the Dirt Round 5. The two new ROC drivers wowed the crowd with their blistering laps in the tracks prepared by MP Turbo Race Director Mike Potenciano. The sprawling CGC was also used for the ROC last November but this time, a longer and faster one-kilometer tarmac track road course with sweeping turns was set up.

Petron CGC20200215 - Collantes, Rapoport top Petron CGC Superbattle
Novice Karol Collantes ruled the Tarmac Time Attack Round 4 during the Rally of Champions at Clark Global City, Pampanga last month. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

“The ROC’s Tarmac Time Attack layout was so good and I enjoyed it tremendously,” said Collantes after posting the best time of 1:36.71 (minutes) in the Superbattle Open FWD (front-wheel drive) Class. “It made me realize that my Honda Civic can handle both technical and high-speed courses. I really loved it and am happy that I was blessed to get the best time of the day.”

Rapoport used his stock Ford Raptor to the limits and posted a flying lap of 1:27.35 in the dirt to win the premiere Open 4WD (four-wheel drive) Class. The Israeli expat was driving his Raptor aggressively and suffered a front flat tire when the ruts became very deep. Luckily, he was able to fix his Raptor to take another first place finish in the Superbattle Open Pickup Division.

“First I want to thank Mike and Lindy (Pellicer) from ROC for organizing this amazing event in Clark Global City,” said Rapoport after his win. “I enjoyed driving on the track and I was so happy for winning as I have no history with racing. This was always my dream — to become a race driver but it never happened for me, so now is my chance to experience this feeling. And I love it.”

The ROC was presented by Petron Corp. and Clark Global City with the ROC Official Race vehicles for tarmac coming from Honda Philippines with two Honda City cars, and two Toyota Vios Cup cars from Oben Group of Companies. All the vehicles ran on Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Tires.

The ROC Official Dirt trucks came from JAC Motors and had the T6 4×4 and T8 4×2 pickups on BF Goodrich KO2 Tires from previous legs of the ROC. All cars ran trouble free and all drivers running in the ROC were very impressed by their reliability and great handling.

The official financial institution of the ROC is South Asialink Finance Corp. with DOOH as the main LED e-billboard provider. Other sponsors were Cars Unlimited, Motolite, Ziebart, Keon Sondra, Carrera Eyeware and Sunglass Haven. Media partners are Turbo Time TV on Cignal TV’s One PH and The Manila Times. For details, visit, and the Facebook pages of MP Turbo Rally of Champions, Philippine Motorsports History, Mike Potenciano and Lindy Pellicer.

Subic’s Rommel Mateo and Jeffrey Soberon placed second and third overall in the Tarmac behind Collantes. The two had a good battle with Mateo winning by 1.7 seconds in the end over Soberon.

The Obengers Vios Cup Superbattle had registered nurse and ROC Qualifiers winner Andrew Tuason winning the field with a time of 1:52.25. Second went to newcomer Jeff Gan with 1:55.63 and third to Anton Lim with 1:57.62.

For the Dirt Time Attack, Rapoport was followed by fellow Ford Raptor drivers Jerome Arcenas and Boboy Rabe in the Open 4WD Class. Arcenas, president of the Raptor Club of the Philippines, tried his best to overtake the Israeli and took second with a time of 1:32.46. His clubmate Rabe took third with 1:34.19 in their own hotly contested battle. The top three finishers got the same positions in the Open Pickup Class thereafter.

The new revelation of the dirt round was new ROC participant and Toyota Vios Promotions Champion Quattro Adriano who won the Open 2WD Class in spectacular fashion. He used his Toyota Fortuner early on the race to record a time of 1:42.46. His teammate and E-sport gamer Gab Señires took second place ahead of lady driver Elysse Menorca with 1:48.93 and 1:51.46, respectively. Adriano also took home the Open SUV Class.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *