by Waylon Galvez

Archery head Clint Aranas is hoping for a unified Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) now that the ‘special’ election is over, where he clinched a spot as a member of the executive board.

“I’m hopeful for the unification of sports community with a fresh mandate,” said Aranas following the IOC-ordered polls held Sunday at the Century Park Hotel in Manila.

“Let’s focus for sports and not for profit,” he added.

280719 POC ELECTIONS 05 riodeluvio copy 640x327 - Aranas hopes for a united POC

Newly elect (from left) Jesus Clint Aranas (Archery), Executive Board Member; Steve Hontiveros (Handball), POC Chairman; Abraham Tolentino (Cycling) POC President; and Cynthia Carrion (Gymnastics) Executive Board Member (MB photo | Rio Leonelle Deluvio)

Aranas received 24 votes followed by Cynthia Carrion of gymnastics with 23 to clinch the vacant two spots the two previously held but tendered their resignations following a POC meeting a few weeks ago.

Aranas and Carrion have previously been voted as directors of the POC executive board during the 2016 elections. By winning again, they rejoin their fellow directors Robert Mananquil of billiards and snooker and congressman Prospero Pichay of chess.

Monico Puentevella of weightlifting (21) and Lani Velasco of swimming (19) were the other candidates for director but did not win.

The special election saw cycling’s Bambol Tolentino win against Philip Ella Juico of athletics, 24-20, and Aranas said he will continue to work with his fellow officers for the betterment of sports.

“I’m a lawyer and I like to think things in the right perspective, not bias. I pray that we are all here to do the right thing,” said Aranas, who reportedly had plans to run for POC president but didn’t push through due to technicalities.

Also elected was Steve Hontiveros of handball as the new POC chairman, a position Tolentino previously held but was vacated following his resignation. Ricky Vargas of boxing stepped down as POC chief last month.

The four elected officers – Tolentino, Hontiveros, Aranas and Carrion – will join officials who did not resign and have retained their respective positions, namely Joey Romasanta of volleyball as first vice president, Jeff Tamayo of soft tennis as second vice president, Julian Camacho of wushu as treasurer and canoe kayak’s Jonne Go as auditor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *