Typhoon “Rolly” (international name “Goni”) continues to rapidly intensify and is nearing Super Typhoon category, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said in its 11 p.m, Oct. 30, weather bulletin.

1 him colored 5 1 1024x740 - ‘Rolly’ continues to rapidly intensify, nearing super typhoon category — PAGASA

The eye of typhoon “Rolly” was located 895 km East of Casiguran, Aurora as of 10 p.m. of Friday as it moves west-southwestward at a speed of 15 km/h with maximum sustained winds of 215 km/h near the center and gustiness of up to 265 km/h.

The weather bureau bulletin said: “‘Rolly’ underwent extremely rapid intensification over the last 24 hours and is now near the Super Typhoon category threshold. The typhoon is forecast to be near Super Typhoon strength (185-215 km/h) by the time it passes very near to Bicol Region and makes landfall over the Aurora-Quezon area.

“After landfall, “Rolly” is forecast to weaken considerably but will remain at typhoon category until it emerges over the West Philippine Sea.”

On Sunday, the typhoon will gradually turn towards the west-northwest, bringing its inner rainbands-eyewall region near or over Catanduanes and the Camarines Provinces during the morning and afternoon hours and over the Quezon-Aurora area during the evening hours.

 The center of the eye of the typhoon is forecast to pass very close or over the Calaguas Islands on Sunday afternoon and make landfall over the Quezon-Aurora area on Sunday evening. 

After crossing Central Luzon, the center of “Rolly” is forecast to exit the mainland Luzon landmass on Monday morning.

PAGASA raised tropical cyclone wind signal no. 1 over the following areas: Catanduanes, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay, Sorsogon, Masbate including Ticao and Burias Islands, Quezon including Polillo Islands, Rizal, Laguna, Marinduque, and Romblon Northern Samar, the northern portion of Samar (Tagapul-An, Almagro, Santo Nino, Tarangnan, Catbalogan City, Calbayog City, Santa Margarita, Gandara, Pagsanghan, San Jorge, Jiabong, Motiong, Paranas, San Jose de Buan, Matuguinao), the northern portion of Eastern Samar (Taft, Can-Avid, Dolores, Maslog, Jipapad, Arteche, Oras, San Policarpo), and the northern portion of Biliran (Kawayan, Maripipi).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *