After making landfall five times over the islands of Bicol and Southern Luzon, typhoon “Quinta” (international name: “Molave”) is expected to re-emerge over the West Philippine Sea on Monday morning.

000 8TT7VK - Quinta’ makes 5th final coastal crossing over PH; leaves trail of devastation
An evacuating family waits for instructions from village officials in the coastal area of Legazpi City, Albay province on October 25, 2020.
(Photo by Charism SAYAT / AFP / MANILA BULLETIN)

In its severe weather bulletin issued at 5 a.m., Monday, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said “Quinta” has made its fifth landfall over Pola, Oriental Mindoro around 3:30 a.m., which is “expected to be the final coastal crossing” of the cyclone over the Philippine landmass.

It had earlier made landfall over Torrijos, Marinduque (1:20 a.m., October 26); San Andres, Quezon (10:30 p.m., October 25); Malinao, Albay (6:50 p.m., October 25); and San Miguel Island, Tabaco City, Albay (6:10 p.m., 25 October).

The cyclone was already in the vicinity of Socorro, Oriental Mindoro around 4 a.m. as it continued to traverse the Mindoro Island on its way to the West Philippine Sea.

It will then turn more west-northwest while maintaining speed towards the western border of the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR), and will likely exit the PAR by Tuesday morning, PAGASA said.

“Quinta” has maintained its maximum sustained winds of 125 kilometers per hour and gustiness of up to 180 kph, and will remain a typhoon throughout its passage over Mindoro Island.

After emerging over the West Philippine Sea, PAGASA said the typhoon is forecast to re-intensify and may reach its peak intensity within 24 to 48 hours.

As of 5 a.m. Monday, tropical cyclone wind Signal No. 3 remains hoisted over the southern portion of Quezon (Mulanay, San Francisco, Catanauan, General Luna, Macalelon, Pitogo, Unisan, Agdangan, Padre Burgos, Pagbilao, Lucena City, Sariaya, Candelaria, Tiaong, San Antonio, Dolores, Tayabas City), southern portion of Batangas (Lian, Tuy, San Juan, Rosario, Padre Garcia, Lipa City, Cuenca, San Jose, Ibaan, Taysan, Lobo, Batangas City, Mabini, Tingloy, San Pascual, Bauan, Alitagtag, San Luis, Taal, Santa Teresita, Calatagan, Balayan, Calaca, Lemery, Agoncillo, San Nicolas, Mataas Na Kahoy), northern portion of Romblon (Concepcion, Banton, Corcuera, Romblon, San Agustin, Calatrava, San Andres, Odiongan, Santa Maria), Marinduque, northern and central portion of Oriental Mindoro (Oriental Mindoro (Mansalay, Roxas, Bongabong, Bansud, Gloria, Pinamalayan, Pola, Socorro, Victoria, Naujan, Calapan City, Baco, San Teodoro, Puerto Galera), and northern and central portion of Occidental Mindoro (San Jose, Rizal, Calintaan, Sablayan, Santa Cruz, Mamburao, Paluan, Abra de Ilog) including Lubang Island.

Signal No. 2 was still raised over Camarines Norte, western portion of Camarines Sur (Siruma, Tinambac, Calabanga, Naga City, Pili, Bula, Balatan, Minalabac, Milaor, Bombon, Magarao, Canaman, Camaligan, Gainza, San Fernando, Pasacao, Pamplona, Cabusao, Libmanan, Sipocot, Lupi, Ragay, Del Gallego), Burias Island, the rest of Quezon including Polillo Islands, Laguna, rest of Batangas, Cavite, Rizal, Metro Manila, southern portion of Bulacan (Norzagaray, Angat, San Rafael, Baliuag, Pulilan, Calumpit, Hagonoy, Paombong, Malolos City, Plaridel, Bustos, San Jose del Monte City, Santa Maria, Pandi, Guiguinto, Balagtas, Bulacan, Bocaue, Meycauayan City, Obando, Marilao), southern portion of Pampanga (Lubao, Sasmuan, Macabebe, Masantol, Minalin, Apalit), Bataan, the rest of Romblon, the rest of Oriental Mindoro, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, Calamian Islands, and the extreme northern portion of Antique (Caluya).

Areas under Signal No. 1 were Catanduanes, the rest of Camarines Sur, Albay, western portion of Sorsogon (Donsol, Pilar, Castilla, Sorsogon City, Casiguran, Juban, Magallanes, Bulan, Irosin), northern portion of mainland Masbate (Uson, Mobo, Masbate City, Baleno, Aroroy, Balud, Mandaon, Milagros) including Ticao Island, southern portion of Aurora (Dingalan, San Luis), the southern portion of Nueva Ecija (Gabaldon, Laur, Palayan City, General Tinio, Cabanatuan City, Aliaga, Zaragoza, Jaen, San Antonio, Santa Rosa, Peñaranda, Gapan City, San Leonardo, San Isidro, Cabiao), southern portion of Tarlac (La Paz, Tarlac City, San Jose, Concepcion, Capas, Bamban), the rest of Bulacan, the rest of Pampanga, central and southern portions of Zambales (Iba, Botolan, Cabangan, San Felipe, San Narciso, San Antonio, San Marcelino, Castillejos, Subic, Olongapo City), northern portion of Palawan (El Nido, Taytay) including Cuyo Islands, the rest of the northern portion of Antique (Laua-An, Barbaza, Tibiao, Culasi, Sebaste, Pandan, Libertad), Aklan, Capiz, and northern portion of Iloilo (Lemery, Sara, San Dionisio, Batad, Estancia, Carles, Balasan).

Moderate to heavy with at times intense rains will prevail over Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, northern Palawan including Calamian and Cuyo Islands, Aklan, Capiz, and Antique.

The tail-end of a frontal system will also bring moderate to heavy rains over Cagayan, Isabela, Apayao, Kalinga, Abra, Ilocos Norte, and Ilocos Sur.

The combined effects of the two weather systems may also bring light to moderate with at times heavy rains over Metro Manila, Zamboanga Peninsula, Bangsamoro, Northern Mindanao, Caraga, and the rest of Luzon and Visayas.

PAGASA advised the public to remain alert for possible flooding, rain-induced landslides, or sediment-laden streamflow (lahar) during heavy or prolonged rainfall especially in areas that are highly susceptible to these hazards.

Moreover, destructive typhoon-force winds could be felt in areas under Signal No. 3, while damaging gale to storm-force winds are likely in areas under Signal No. 2.

Areas under Signal No. 1 may experience strong breeze to near gale conditions.

Storm surges around to 2.0 to 3.0 meters (m) high may also occur over the coastal areas of Camarines Norte, and northern coastal areas of Quezon including Polillo Islands, and Camarines Sur, and 1.0 to 2.0 m over the coastal areas of Batangas, Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Masbate, Albay, Sorsogon, Catanduanes, and the remaining coastal areas of Quezon and Camarines Sur.

“Rough to high seas” with waves reaching 2.5 to 7.0 m will be experienced over the seaboards of areas under Signal Nos. 1, 2, and 3.

Rough to very rough seas (2.5 to 5.0 m) will also prevail over the remaining seaboards of Luzon and the western, northern, and eastern seaboards of Visayas.

Sea travel is suspended in these areas.

Moderate to rough seas, with waves that may reach 1.2 to 3.1 m will prevail over the other coastlines of the country.

PAGASA advised those using small boats to take necessary precautionary measures while venturing out to sea, while inexperienced mariners should avoid navigating in these conditions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *