Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) ushers in 2020 by honoring Filipino filmmakers, producers, actors, projects and the various figures of the film industry that received global recognition over the past year in the fourth edition of FDCP’s Film Ambassadors’ Night on Feb. 9.

p1 1400x933 - 4th Film Ambassadors’ Night set for February

“We call our honorees Film Ambassadors for their incredible role in promoting and elevating Philippine Cinema globally by winning in international platforms,” said FDCP Chairperson Liza Dino said. “Their works and artistry add to the whole of an already great Filipino heritage that is constantly growing in scale and quality. and it makes us truly proud that we call the world’s attention to the Philippine Cinema through their efforts.”

p2 - 4th Film Ambassadors’ Night set for February

Film Ambassador’s Night, which inaugurated in 2017, has honored over 200 filmmakers with particular focus on those who represented the Philippines in the international arena. They include director Brillante Mendoza as part of the A-listers category for winning the special jury prize in San Sebastian Film Festival in 2018, and directors Treb Monteras and Mikhail Red.

p3 - 4th Film Ambassadors’ Night set for February

In addition to recognizing Film Ambassadors, FDCP will present the Camera Obscura Artistic Excellence award to three members of the film industry. This award recognizes outstanding representatives of the film industry — be they filmmakers, producers, actors and so on — who made breakthroughs internationally, brought an appreciation for Philippine cinema abroad, and have positively inspired the Philippine film industry to aspire to greater heights. Awardees will receive a trophy and 50,000 pesos from FDCP.

p4 - 4th Film Ambassadors’ Night set for February

Last year’s Camera Obscura awardees included filmmaker and national artist Kidlat Tahimik, film producer Bianca Balbuena and the highest-grossing Filipino film of 2018, “The Hows of Us.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *