Brunei and Saudi Arabia still do not allow general entry of foreign nationals, including Filipinos, and have imposed stricter medical protocols for those who are exempt from entry restrictions in the Sultanate and the Kingdom, the Department of Foreign Affairs said Monday.

08112020 OFW ROMERO 1 1024x683 - Saudi Arabia, Brunei still remain off-limits to foreigners, including Filipinos

In a travel advisory, the DFA said those who are exempt from entry restrictions in Brunei and Saudi Arabia such as diplomats and United Nations passport holders, among others, are required to present negative COVID-19 test results obtained within 72 hours prior to departure from the country of origin.

Ukraine, on the other hand, prohibited the entry of foreign nationals and stateless persons until Sept. 28, 2020.

This prohibition, however, exempts Filipinos who are citizens of destination countries, returning residents with valid resident permits, OFWs with work visas and contracts, diplomatic and UN passport holders, and government officials traveling for assignment to posts or on official travel, among others. Exempted travelers are required to undergo medical protocols such as self-quarantine and COVID-19 test upon arrival.

The Foreign Affairs department said Malaysia will now allow professionals and visit pass holders from the Philippines to enter the country provided they seek approval from the Malaysian Immigration and the Investment Development Authority.

On Sept. 8, the Malaysian government barred the entry of citizens from 23 countries with high numbers of COVID-19 cases, including the Philippines.

Aside from the Philippines, the other countries that issued entry restrictions were the United States, Brazil, India, Russia, Peru, Colombia, South Africa, Mexico, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Iran, Bangladesh, the United Kingdom, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, France, Turkey, Italy, Germany, Iraq, and Indonesia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *