No fare increase will be enforced as around 2,768 additional public utility vehicles, mainly traditional jeepneys and UV Express vehicles, were allowed to operate starting Sunday.

07072020 COMMUTE ROMERO 2 1024x683 - No fare hike in PUVs as 2,768 more allowed to serve commuters

The Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) opened an additional 30 routes of  traditional public utility jeepney (TPUJ) and 22 routes of UV Express in compliance with the directive of Department of Transportation (DOTr) Secretary Arthur Tugade to implement the Operation Plan (OPLAN) AIR (Add routes / PUVs, Increase speed / capacity, Reduce travel time).

It is also in accordance with the decision of President  Duterte and his Cabinet to approve the recommendation of the Economic Development Council (EDC) to help in the recovery of the economy.

Based on Memorandum Circulars (MC) 2020-062 and MC 2020-063, the number of additional public utility vehicles (PUVs) that were allowed to operate are 1,064 units of UVE and 1,704 units of TPUJ.

MC 2020-062 states the following UVE routes:

1. N25 BF Paranaque-Ayala Center

2. N26 Barangay Fortune (Marikina City)-Cubao, Quezon City

3. N27 Deparo-SM North EDSA/C.I.T

4. N28 Deparo-Blumentritt

5. N29 Lagro-Quiapo via Sauyo

6. N30 Lagro-SM North EDSA

7. N31 Lagro-T.M. Kalaw

8. N32 Lower Bicutan-SM Makati

9. N33 Malabon-Ayala

10. N34 Novaliches-Cubao Farmers’ Market

11. N35 Novaliches-Monumento

12. N36 Pasig San Joaquin-Robinson’s Galleria

13. N37 Southmall-Lawton

14. C53 Bahayang Pag-asa-Park and Ride, Lawton

15. C54 Camella Holmes, Springville-Ayala Ave.

16. C55 Camella Homes, Springville-Metropolis Mall, Alabang

17. C56 Imus, Cavite-Ayala Ave.

18. C57 Queen’s Row, Cavite-Park and Ride, Lawton

19. C58 Sto. Nino, Meycauayan, Bulacan-Quezon Ave.

20. C59 Tabang-Tutuban

21. C60 Tanay, Rizal-EDSA Shaw Boulevard

22. C61 Malolos, Bulacan-Quezon Ave.

The TPUJ routes stated in MC 2020-063 are:

1. T172 H. Dela Costa II- SM Fairview via Quirino Highway

2. T173 Munoz Market-Quezon Memorial Circle via Visayas Ave., Congressional Ave.

3. T174 Novaliches-Camarin Extended Bagong Silang, Novaliches

4. T175 Novaliches-Rizal Ave. Via Banal

5. T176 Novaliches-Tala

6. T261 Marikina-Pasig via Dela Paz

7. T262 SM Marikina-Pasig

8. T263 Pasig (TP)-Taguig (TP) via Pateros

9. T264 Pasig Market-Taguig via Bagong Calzada

10. T265 Mambugan-Marikina

11. T3153 Gasak-Recto via Heroes Del 96

12. T3154 Gasak-Sta. Cruz via Heroes Del 96

13. T3155 L. Guinto-Makati via San Andres

14. T3156 Makati PUJ Loop (Start from PRC Terminal)

15. T3157 Malinta-Recto via F. Huertas, Oroquieta

16. T3158 Malinta-Sta. Cruz via F. Huertas, Oroquieta

17. T3159 Munoz-Pantranco via Roosevelt Ave.

18. T3160 Munoz-Remedios via Sta. Cruz, L. Guinto

19. T3161 P. Faura-San Andres via M. Adriano

20. T3162 Pier South-Project 2&3 via E. Rodriguez

21. T3163 Pier South-Project 2&3 via Timog Ave.

22. T3164 Pier South-Project 4 via Espana

23. T3165 Project 2&3-T.M. Kalaw via Timog Ave.

24. T3166 Punta-Quiapo (Barbosa) via Sta. Mesa

25. T3167 Quezon Ave.-LRT 5th Ave., Caloocan City

26. T3168 Recto-Retiro via F. Huertas, Oroquieta

27. T3169 Recto-Roxas District via Quezon Ave., Espana Ave.

28. T3170 Divisoria-Gasak via H. Lopez

29. T426 Queens Row Village-Talon via M. Alvarez

30. T427 Molino, SM Bacoor-Alabang

The LTFRB pointed out that roadworthy PUVs can travel with a valid and existing Certificate of Public Convenience (CPC) or Application for Extension of Validity, and each unit must be registered in the Personal Passenger Insurance Policy for routes stated under the MC.

In lieu of the Special Permit (SP), a QR Code will be issued to each operator, which must be placed on short bond paper and posted on their PUVs. The QR Code can be downloaded from the LTFRB official website (

The LTFRB reiterated that no fare increase will be enforced unless it is officially stated and approved by the agency.

Another requirement for traditional PUJs and UVE units for them to be able to operate is to observe the strict implementation of health and safety protocols, including the “7 Commandments,” as recommended by health experts.

These are 1. Wear face masks and face shields 2. No talking and making telephone calls 3. No eating 4. Keep PUVs well-ventilated 5. Conduct of frequent disinfection 6. No passengers with COVID-19 symptoms are to be allowed inside the public transportation  7. Observe appropriate physical distancing.

Since June, LTFRB has reopened several PUV routes in Metro Manila – 322 traditional PUJ routes (28,720 units); 48 modern PUJ routes (845 units); 34 public utility bus (PUB) routes (4,164 units); 14 provincial (PUB) routes (305 units); 34 point-to-point bus routes (387 units); 98 UV Express routes (4,327 units); two UV Express Class 3 routes (40 units); 20,927 taxi units; and 24,356 transport network vehicles services or TNVS units. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *