LUCENA CITY: Quezon province’s Fourth District Rep. Angelina Helen “Doktora” Tan has emerged as the topnotcher in a survey for governor, pipping incumbent Gov. Danilo Suarez and looming as the leading candidate for the the province’s No. 1 political post in the 2022 elections. according to officers of the Philippine Research and Information Service (Philris) Publishing, headed by Prof. Manuel Mendoza.

Rep. Angelina Helen Doktora Tan - Incumbent lawmaker tops poll for Quezon governor
Rep. Angelina Helen “Doktora” Tan. Photo from

On Monday, Mendoza said Tan, a medical doctor, won in the first, second and fourth districts of Quezon while Suarez took the third district.

The results came from a total of 12,220 survey forms that had been distributed to residents and registered voters in 1,209 barangay (villages), two cities and 39 municipalities of Quezon province.

A total of 1,208 survey forms, however, were unreturned, bringing to a total of 11,012 the actual number of respondents.

Tan garnered 6,845 votes while Suarez got 4,167 votes.

The survey, which was conducted by Mendoza’s group from Nov. 2, 2020 to Dec. 21, 2020, was sponsored by a business group and politicians affiliated with the Lakas-CMD party.

It was undertaken in the 12 municipalities of Burdeos, Gen. Nacar, Infanta, Jomalig, Lucban, Pagbilao, Mauban, Panukulan, Patnanungan, Polillio, Real and Sampaloc as well as the first district Tayabas City from Nov. 25, 2020, to Dec. 2, 2020.

For this survey, a total number of 2,850 survey forms were distributed to registered voters in 285 villages with a total of 2,432 accounting for actual voters and respondents.

A total of 418 forms were not collected.

Tan was declared the No. 1 choice after garnering 1,290 votes and winning in 157 villages while Suarez got 1,142 votes and taking 128 villages.

The fourth district lawmaker led the survey in the towns of Infanta, Jomalig, Lucban, Panukulan, Patnanungan and Polilio and Tayabas City with Suarez acing the towns of Burdeos, Gen. Nacar, Pagbilao, Mauban, Real and Sampaloc.

In the Second District, the survey was conducted from Dec. 3 to 5, 2020 in the City of Lucena and the five municipalities of Tiaong, Sariaya, San Antonio, Dolores and Candelaria.

Mendoza’s group distributed a total of 1,680 survey forms to registered voters in 168 villages, but they failed to collect a total number of 141 forms.

The total number of respondents was 1,539 with Tan topping the survey with 806 votes while Suarez got 733 votes.

Tan also took 93 villages and Suarez, 75 villages.

She led in the towns of Tiaong, Sariaya and San Antonio while Suarez won in Dolores and Candelaria as well as Lucena City.

In the third district, composed of the 12 municipalities of Agdangan, Buenavista, Catanuan, Gen. Luna, Macalelon, Mulanay, Padre Burgos, Pitogo, San Andres, San Narciso, San Francisco and Unisan, the survey was conducted from Dec. 6 to 11, 2020.

Remedios Justo, who was in charge of the poll, said a total of 3,270 survey forms were distributed to registered voters in 324 villages, but they failed to collect 267 survey forms. Hence, the actual respondents numbered only 3,003.

Suarez bagged this survey, garnering 1,536 votes and winning in 164 villages while Tan got 1,467 votes and took 160 villages.

The incumbent governor was No. 1 in the towns of Agdangan, Mulanay, Padre Burgos, Pitogo, San Andres, San Narcis and Unisan while Tan took Buenavista, Catanuan, Gen. Luna, Macalelo and San Francisco.

In the fourth district, composed of 10 municipalities ‒ Alabat, Atimonan, Calauag, Guinayangan, Gumaca, Lopez, Perez, Plaridel, Quezon and Tagkawayan ‒ the survey was conducted from Dec. 12 to 21, 2020.

Justo said they distributed a total of 4,420 survey forms to registered voters in 442 villages. They failed to collect 382 forms, putting the actual number of respondents at a total of 4,038.

Tan was declared the topnotcher, getting 3,282 votes and winning in 364 villages with Suarez receiving 756 votes and topping 78 villages.

The fourth district lawmaker took the towns of Alabat, Atimonan, Calauag, Guinayangan, Gumaca, Lopez, Perez, Plaridel and Tagkawayan, and Suarez pocketed Quezon.

The results of the survey were seen as an indication that the popularity of the Suarez family in Quezon province is waning, according to the Mendoza group.

The group noted that the incumbent governor trailed in the survey despite his wife, Aleta, being the incumbent third district representative and in spite of his son, David, being the incumbent second district representative.

Meanwhile, Mendoza announced that Vice President Maria Leonor “Leni” Robredo towed six other perceived contenders for the presidency in the 2022 elections: Senators Emmanuel “Manny” Pacquiao, Panfilo Lacson and Grace Poe; Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte, daughter of President Rodrigo Duterte; and former senators Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and Manuel “Manny” Villar Jr.

Without mentioning the number of votes that each contender tallied, Mendoza said second to Robredo was Lacson, followed by Villar, Poe, Duterte, Marcos and Pacquiao.

He added that the “winner” in Quezon province was Robredo, followed by Villar, Lacson, Poe, Duterte, Marcos and Pacquiao.

In the province of Rizal, Robredo was also the topnotcher, ahead of Lacson, Villar, Poe, Duterte, Marcos and Pacquiao.

In Cavite, Lacson was the choice, followed by Robredo, Villar, Poe, Duterte, Pacquiao and Marcos.

In Batangas, the survey was ongoing.

In Laguna, the vice preisdent was also leading, Mendoza said, citing initial results. He added that Philris will announce results of the survey that it conducted in the provinces of Region-4-A once it has completed collating the data in the second week of January.

Region 4-A (Calabarzon) groups Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal and Quezon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *