ISABELA CITY, Basilan: Practically all officials and workers of the former Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) have finally been removed by the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

This was announced here recently by former ARMM governor Mujiv Hataman, now a congressman representing the lone district of Basilan province.

161112 hataman01 300x226 - 5,000 ex-ARMM workers finally ousted by BARMM
Mujiv Hataman

Hataman said the BARMM, based in Cotabato City, now comprises only six areas, namely Sulu, Maguindanao, Basilan, Tawi -Tawi and Cotabato City after Lanao del Norte and Isabela City had refused to join the new autonomous region in the last plebiscite.

Naguib Sinarimbo, BARMM Interior and Local Government minister and regional spokesman, said the affected employees of the former ARMM — whether hired on permanent, temporary, casual or contractual basis and with appointments attested by the Civil Service Commission — “were entitled to the applicable retirement or separation benefits as provided by the Bangsamoro Organic Law.

Sinarimbo added that “employees in the significant sectors of education, health and social welfare will be absorbed in the BARMM government, with some of them promoted, like school administrators, who may be relocated to bigger stations.”

Exempted from the dismissal, he said, “were employees under the Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Vocational Education, Ministry of Social Services and Ministry of Health.”

Sinarimbo added that BARMM, unlike ARMM, is envisioning better socioeconomic growth and development for its constituents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *