Twenty-one national road sections in the country became impassable Monday due to various damage caused by typhoon Quinta, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) said.

DPWH - DPWH deploys clearing, repair teams to 21 nat’l roads in Quinta aftermath

“Our disaster-response teams with equipment are deployed to conduct immediate clearing operations and install warning signs along affected road sections once roads are safe for our crew,” Public Works and Highways Secretary Mark Villar said.

The department’s Bureau of Maintenance said that of the 21 affected road sections, seven roads are closed in Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR); five in Region 2, two in Region 3, four in Region 5, while the rest are in Regions 4-A, 4-B, 10.

The roads became impassable due to road cut, landslide, mudflow, collapsed bridge, sunken pavement, fallen trees and electrical post and flooding due to heavy rains brought by “Quinta”.

Impassable roads in CAR include: Kennon Road; Tawang – Ambiong Road section in Sitio Lower Riverside in Barangay Ambiong, La Trinidad, Benguet; Apayao – Ilocos Norte Road section in Madduang, Kabugao, Apayao; Claveria-Calanasan-Kabugao Road’s Maragmin Section in Calanasan, Apayao; Jct. Talubin-Barlig-Natonin-Paracelis Road in Talubin and Mt. Province – Nueva Vizcaya Road in Bayyo, both in Bontoc, Mountain Province; and a section of Tabuk – Banaue Road in Dupligan, Tanudan, Kalinga.

In Region 2, affected sections are: Cabagan-Sta. Maria Overflow Bridge in Cabagan, Sta. Maria, Isabela; Abusag Overflow Bridge along Baybayog-San Jose-Baggao-Abusag-Dalin-Sta. Margarita Road in Cagayan; intermittent sections of Cadcadir- Kabugao Road; Jct. Logac Lasam Gagabutan Road (JLLGR) Rizal Section in Cagayan; and a portion of Manila North Road (MNR) in Barangay San Juan, Sta. Praxedes, Cagayan.

A section of Nueva Ecija-Aurora Road in Barangay Villa. Maria Aurora in Aurora, and a section of Baliwag-Candaba-Sta. Ana Road in San Agustin, Candaba, Pampanga were also impassable in Region 3.

Affected road sections in the regions of Calabarzon and Mimaropa were intermittent sections of Tagaytay Taal Lake Road in Barangay San Jose, Tagaytay City in Cavite and a section of Calapan North Road in Oriental Mindoro.

In Region 5 where the first landfall of “Quinta” was recorded, the typhoon rendered the following road sections impassable: Naga-Carolina-Panicuason Road; Tigaon-Goa-San Jose-Lagonoy-Guijalo via San Vicente Road (Tigaon-Lagonoy Section) in Barangay San Antonio, Tigaon, and Baao-Iriga City-Nabua Road in Camarines Sur; and the Daang Maharlika (Tuaca Basud Section) in Camarines Norte.

The Siloo Bridge along Misamis Oriental-Bukidnon-Agusan Road in Barangay San Luis, Malitbog, Bukidnon also became impassable due to landslide and collapsed steel truss bridge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *