A total of 29 actors, singers and key entertainment industry people were recognized at the 2020 Korean Popular Culture and Arts Awards held on Oct. 28.

Hosted by Korea’s Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism (MCST) and the Korea Creative Content Agency (KOCCA), it is the most prestigious government award in the field of culture and the arts, and honors people who have contributed to the development of popular culture and spread of Hallyu, or Korean Wave.

This year, six were given the Order of Cultural Merit, six for Presidential Commendation, eight for Prime Minister’s Commendation and nine for Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism Commendation.

Receiving the Eungwan Order of Cultural Merit medal, the highest award, were veteran actress Go Doo-shim whose works include “When the Camellia Blooms,” veteran actor Byun Hee-bong and singer Yoon Hang-gi. Awarded the Bogwan Order of Cultural Merit medal were comedian Lim Ha-ryong, voice actor Song Do-soon and TV writer Song Ji-na.

According to rules, a person who has received a medal cannot receive a medal of the same level again or in a lower category.

Cultureawards1 - Hyun Bin, Kim Hee-ae, Seventeen honored at 2020 Korean Popular Culture and Arts Awards
(Clockwise from top left) Veteran actress Go Doo-shim, actor Hyun Bin, actress Kim Hee-ae, actress Gong Hyo-jin, boy band Seventeen, actor Kang Ha-neul, actor Ryu Soo-young, TV personality Kang Ho-dong and comedian Jang Do-yeon (Photos: Korean Popular Culture and Arts Awards, Twitter)

The Presidential Commendation awardees were drama “The World of the Married” star Kim Hee-ae, “Crash Landing on You” actor Hyun Bin, TV personality Kang Ho-dong, actor Chun Ho-jin, musician Kim Ki-pyo and writer Kim Eun-hee.

Awarded the Prime Minister Commendation were “When the Camellia Blooms” stars Gong Hyo-jin and Kang Ha-neul, K-pop boy band Seventeen, comedian Park Mi-sun, producer Shin Choon-soo, actress Yoon Yoo-sun, choreographer Choi Young-joon and voice actor Kim Yong-shik.

Given the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism Commendation award were actor Ryu Soo-young, musician Jung Sung-ha, comedian Jang Do-yeon, trot singer Lim Young-woong, actor Jung Sung-hwa, actor Jo Jae-yoon, rock band No Brain, TV writer Lim Sang-Chun and voice actor Kang Soo-jin.

During the show, Seventeen performed “HOME;RUN” and Junsu of JYJ sang “What Does It Mean to be a King” from the musical “Xcalibur.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *